The fieldwork in geology

Units of relief

Catalonia’s relief is much diversified, from the different accidents in the Pyrenees, to the plains in the central area. Three large relief or physiographic units can be distinguished with only casting a glance at a topographic map of Catalonia: the Pyrenees, Ebro depression and coastal ranges and depressions (Mediterranean – Catalan Coastal Chain System.)

Each relief or physiographic unit is the result of a particular geologic history. Therefore, each of them is characterized by a precise rock assemblage that has a particular structure. The relief that they have is the result of geomorphologic processes that are relatively recent.

Go to:


For further information:

Search of
Geocamp is a web portal
recognized with distinction Jaume Vicens Vives,
granted by the Generalitat of Catalonia
Email Facebook Twitter Whatsapp
Project developed Project Funded
Legal note / Rules for using Geocamp